Laura Del-Rivo’s fiction is notable for its distinctive style, sharply capturing moments of heightened perception and existential angst; for its movement between realism and surrealism; and for its settings among the low life of London, especially West Eleven. Del-Rivo has published three novels – The Furnished Room (1961); Daffodil on the Pavement (1967), reissued under Del-Rivo’s preferred title of Animals (1970); and Speedy and Queen Kong (2004). She has also published one volume of short stories, Where is My Mask of an Honest Man? (2013).

Del-Rivo began writing in the 1950s and was closely associated with Bill Hopkins (1928-2011) and Colin Wilson (b. 1931), two members of that wing of t…

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are a member (student of staff) of a subscribing institution (see List), you should be able to access the LE on campus directly (without the need to log in), and off-campus either via the institutional log in we offer, or via your institution's remote access facilities, or by creating a personal user account with your institutional email address. If you are not a member of a subscribing institution, you will need to purchase a personal subscription. For more information on how to subscribe as an individual user, please see under Individual Subcriptions.

Tredell, Nicolas. "Laura Del-Rivo". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 12 November 2013
[, accessed 26 September 2016.]

Articles on Del-Rivo's works

  1. Daffodil on the Pavement
  2. Speedy and Queen Kong
  3. The Furnished Room
  4. Where is My Mask of an Honest Man?

Related Groups

  1. Angry Young Men