Nadeem Aslam (2272 words)

Nadeem Aslam is a British writer of Pakistani origin. His first novel, Season of the Rainbirds (Deutsch, 1993), about bigotry and violence in a small Punjab town, won a Betty Trask Award, the Authors Club Best First Novel Award, and was shortlisted for the Whitbread and Mail on Sunday/John Llewellyn Rhys Awards. His haunting second novel, Maps for Lost Lovers (Faber, 2004), took eleven years to write and contains some truly spectacular writing, imbued with metaphors and rich imagery. The novel explores unflinchingly the crises of migration and displacement and tells of a honour killing in a fictitious Asian working class neighbourhood in Britain. The book won the 2004 Patras Bokhari Award in Pakistan, the 2005 Encore …

Shamsie, Muneeza. "Nadeem Aslam". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 02 March 2007
[, accessed 24 April 2017.]

Articles on Aslam's works

  1. Maps for Lost Lovers
  2. The Wasted Vigil

Related Groups

  1. Postcolonial literature - Britain, The Caribbean, Australia, New Zealand

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here.