Laura Del-Rivo’s fiction is notable for its distinctive style, sharply capturing moments of heightened perception and existential angst; for its movement between realism and surrealism; and for its settings among the low life of London, especially West Eleven. Del-Rivo has published three novels – The Furnished Room (1961); Daffodil on the Pavement (1967), reissued under Del-Rivo’s preferred title of Animals (1970); and Speedy and Queen Kong (2004). She has also published one volume of short stories, Where is My Mask of an Honest Man? (2013).

Del-Rivo began writing in the 1950s and was closely associated with Bill Hopkins (1928-2011) and Colin Wilson (b. 1931), two members of …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are not a subscriber, please click here to read about membership. All our articles have been written recently by experts in their field, more than 95% of them university professors.

Tredell, Nicolas. "Laura Del-Rivo". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 12 November 2013; last revised .
[, accessed 04 July 2015.]

Articles on Del-Rivo's works

  1. Daffodil on the Pavement
  2. Speedy and Queen Kong
  3. The Furnished Room
  4. Where is My Mask of an Honest Man?

Related Groups

  1. Angry Young Men