Nathaniel Hawthorne

(2573 words)

Nathaniel Hawthorne is the only nineteenth-century American fiction writer to be considered canonical in both his own time and ours. His many stories and his four full-length romances – The Scarlet Letter (1850), The House of the Seven Gables (1851), The Blithedale Romance (1852), and The Marble Faun (1860) – quickly became part of the accepted answer to the call for an American literature commensurate with the national culture which was developing and defining itself between the American Revolution and the Civil War. That Hawthorne was wary of nationalism and dubious about American culture made him all the more central to the American tradition of endless revision and reform.

As befits an …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are not a subscriber, please click here to read about membership. All our articles have been written recently by experts in their field, more than 95% of them university professors.

Daly, Robert. "Nathaniel Hawthorne". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 24 January 2005
[, accessed 03 July 2015.]

Articles on Hawthorne's works

  1. A Wonder Book for Girls and Boys
  2. Biographical Stories for Children
  3. Famous Old People
  4. Grandfather's Chair
  5. Liberty Tree
  6. Rappaccini’s Daughter
  7. Tanglewood Tales
  8. The Blithedale Romance
  9. The House of the Seven Gables
  10. The Marble Faun
  11. The Scarlet Letter
  12. Young Goodman Brown