Today Mervyn Peake's reputation rests largely on his three novels, Titus Groan (1946), Gormenghast (1950), and Titus Alone (1959) which became widely known after they were published as Penguin Modern Classics in 1968. Prior to that, Peake was known rather for his poems, paintings, drawings, and book illustrations. Specialists still consider the pictures he provided for The Rime of the Ancient Mariner as one of the most powerful interpretations of the poem, and his Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass as the most memorable illustrated edition. During the 1950s most of Peake's energy went into playwriting, but only one of his plays reached the London stage.

The younger son …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are a member (student of staff) of a subscribing institution (see List), you should be able to access the LE on campus directly (without the need to log in), and off-campus either via the institutional log in we offer, or via your institution's remote access facilities, or by creating a personal user account with your institutional email address. If you are not a member of a subscribing institution, you will need to purchase a personal subscription. For more information on how to subscribe as an individual user, please see under Individual Subcriptions.

Winnington, G Peter. "Mervyn Peake". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 28 February 2003
[, accessed 29 September 2016.]

Articles on Peake's works

  1. Gormenghast
  2. Titus Alone
  3. Titus Groan