C. P. Snow is best-known for his compelling eleven-novel sequence “Strangers and Brothers” (1940-1970) and for his controversial 1959 Rede Lecture “The Two Cultures”, which argued that there was a “gulf of mutual incomprehension” between literary intellectuals and scientists (Snow, 1965, 4) and provoked much debate, most notably a slashing attack from the literary critic F. R. Leavis (1895-1978). In “Strangers and Brothers”, the first-person narrator, Lewis Eliot, explores twentieth-century English life in a variety of settings, from the back streets of a Midlands town to the chambers of Lincoln's Inn, the great houses of the rich, the combination room of a Cambridge college, and the corridors of Westminster and …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are a member (student of staff) of a subscribing institution (see List), you should be able to access the LE on campus directly (without the need to log in), and off-campus either via the institutional log in we offer, or via your institution's remote access facilities, or by creating a personal user account with your institutional email address. If you are not a member of a subscribing institution, you will need to purchase a personal subscription. For more information on how to subscribe as an individual user, please see under Individual Subcriptions.

Tredell, Nicolas. "C. P. Snow". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 23 June 2006; last revised 31 January 2007.
[http://www.litencyc.com/php/speople.php?rec=true&UID=4138, accessed 01 October 2016.]

Articles on Snow's works

  1. A Coat of Varnish
  2. Corridors of Power
  3. Death Under Sail
  4. George Passant
  5. Homecomings
  6. In Their Wisdom
  7. Last Things
  8. Magnanimity
  9. New Lives for Old
  10. Strangers and Brothers
  11. The Affair
  12. The Conscience of the Rich
  13. The Light and the Dark
  14. The Malcontents
  15. The Masters
  16. The New Men
  17. The Search
  18. The Sleep of Reason
  19. The Two Cultures: And A Second Look
  20. Time of Hope