John Wain (1925-94) was a productive man of letters whose output included 13 novels, eight volumes of poetry, three short story collections, a children’s book, six works of literary criticism, an autobiography, a memoir, a biography, four plays and at least 15 edited books. He made his name with his first novel, Hurry on Down (1953), which seemed to inaugurate a key strand of post-WW2 British fiction characterized by rebellious, irreverent heroes. None of Wain’s subsequent works attracted so much attention, but his Samuel Johnson biography (1974) took the James Tait Black Memorial Prize and his tenth novel, Young Shoulders (1982), won the Whitbread Prize for Fiction.

Wain can be placed within two successive, …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are a member (student of staff) of a subscribing institution (see List), you should be able to access the LE on campus directly (without the need to log in), and off-campus either via the institutional log in we offer, or via your institution's remote access facilities, or by creating a personal user account with your institutional email address. If you are not a member of a subscribing institution, you will need to purchase a personal subscription. For more information on how to subscribe as an individual user, please see under Individual Subcriptions.

Tredell, Nicolas. "John Wain". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 16 June 2014
[, accessed 01 October 2016.]

Articles on Wain's works

  1. Hurry on Down

Related Groups

  1. Angry Young Men
  2. The Movement