E. M. Forster

(1472 words)

Forster was principally an Edwardian novelist concerned with the restrictions placed on personal freedom by English sensibilities, but his later work, especially his last novel, A Passage to India (1924), can be called Modernist in its use of symbolism and its style of repetition-with-variation (which Forster called “rhythm” in his 1927 book on fiction Aspects of the Novel). Forster, who lived most of his later life at King's College, Cambridge, was one of the less prominent figures in the Bloomsbury Group, a lifelong member of the Labour Party, and an agnostic. He was also an avowed liberal humanist who believed strongly in personal relationships: he famously wrote in “What I Believe” in 1939 that he would sooner …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are not a subscriber, please click here to read about membership. All our articles have been written recently by experts in their field, more than 95% of them university professors.

Childs, Peter. "E. M. Forster". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 08 January 2001
[http://www.litencyc.com/php/speople.php?rec=true&UID=5178, accessed 30 June 2015.]

Articles on Forster's works

  1. A Passage to India
  2. A Room with a View
  3. Abinger Harvest
  4. Aspects of the Novel
  5. Goldsworthy Lowes Dickinson
  6. Howards End
  7. Marianne Thornton
  8. Maurice
  9. The Celestial Omnibus
  10. The Eternal Moment
  11. The Hill of Devi
  12. The Life to Come
  13. The Longest Journey
  14. Two Cheers for Democracy
  15. Where Angels Fear to Tread

Related Groups

  1. Bloomsbury group