Nelly Sachs (1958 words)

The poet Nelly Sachs may be best remembered as the co-recipient (with S. Y. Agnon of Israel) of the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1966. Although a German native born in Berlin in 1891, she lived in Sweden, where she found asylum with her mother as a refugee from the Holocaust, beginning in 1940, until her death in 1970. She began writing poetry at a young age; however, she did not begin publishing her works in earnest until after the Second World War. Her volumes of poetry include In den Wohnungen des Todes [In the Habitations of Death, 1947], Sternverdunkelung [Eclipse of the Stars, 1949], Und niemand weiss weiter [And No One Knows How to Go On, 1957], and Flucht und Verwandlung [

Strawser, Amy Kepple. "Nelly Sachs". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 30 September 2004
[, accessed 30 April 2017.]

Articles on Sachs' works

  1. Eli: Ein Mysterienenspiel vom Leiden Israels [Eli, A Mystery Play of the Suffering of Israel]
  2. Flucht und Verwandlung [Flight and Metamorphosis]
  3. In den Wohnungen des Todes [In the Dwellings of Death]
  4. Sternverdunkelung
  5. Und niemand weiss weiter [And no one knows how to go on]

Related Groups

  1. Holocaust Literature
  2. Nobel Prize-winners

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here.