Borromean League of Seven Swiss Catholic Cantons is formed

(49 words)
  • Editors

Short Note This is a short note

Colonel Ludwig Pfyffer forms the Borromean League of the Seven Swiss Catholic Cantons, which is also known as the Golden League. This almost leads to a split in the Swiss Confederation on religious lines, especially when the League makes an alliance with Philip II of Spain the following year.

Short notes under 150 words are freely available to all users, but to consult all other articles in the Literary Encyclopedia, you must be logged in as a subscriber. To read about subscribing click here.

Editors. "Borromean League of Seven Swiss Catholic Cantons is formed". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 01 February 2011
[, accessed 18 April 2014.]