Plans for the English settlement of the six counties of Ulster

(40 words)
  • Editors

Historical Context Note

In Ulster, estates formerly belonging to rebels have reverted to the English Crown by the law of escheat. Now plans are prepared for an English settlement of Tyrone which will later extend to a settlement of the entire six counties.
Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are a member (student of staff) of a subscribing institution (see List), you should be able to access the LE on campus directly (without the need to log in), and off-campus either via the institutional log in we offer, or via your institution's remote access facilities, or by creating a personal user account with your institutional email address. If you are not a member of a subscribing institution, you will need to purchase a personal subscription. For more information on how to subscribe as an individual user, please see under Individual Subcriptions.

Editors. "Plans for the English settlement of the six counties of Ulster". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 01 February 2011
[, accessed 25 September 2016.]