German Catholic and Protestant Leagues form to carry out Peace of Westphalia

(75 words)
  • Editors

Historical Context Note

Catholic and Protestant Leagues begin to form in the German States to carry out the terms of the 1648 Peace of Westphalia. The Catholic League of Frankfort is made up of the three ecclesiastical electors, the Count Palatine and the Bishop of M√ľnster, and is later joined by the Circles of Swabia, Franconia and Lower Saxony. The Protestant League comprises Queen Christina of Sweden, the Landgravine of Hesse, and the Dukes of Brunswick and Luxembourg.
Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are a member (student of staff) of a subscribing institution (see List), you should be able to access the LE on campus directly (without the need to log in), and off-campus either via the institutional log in we offer, or via your institution's remote access facilities, or by creating a personal user account with your institutional email address. If you are not a member of a subscribing institution, you will need to purchase a personal subscription. For more information on how to subscribe as an individual user, please see under Individual Subcriptions.

Editors. "German Catholic and Protestant Leagues form to carry out Peace of Westphalia". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 01 April 2011
[, accessed 29 September 2016.]