Treaty of Berlin divides Bulgaria

(77 words)
  • Editors

Short Note This is a short note

The Treaty of Berlin is signed by Britain, France, Germany, Italy, Austria-Hungary, Russia and the Ottoman Empire, as a revision of the Treaty of San Stefano which had ended the war between Russia and the Ottomans in March. By the terms of this new agreement, Bulgaria is split into (a) autonomous Bulgaria, north of the Balkans, (b) Eastern Rumelia, with a special organisation under the control of Turkey, and (c) Macedonia, where reforms are to be undertaken.

Short notes under 150 words are freely available to all users, but to consult all other articles in the Literary Encyclopedia, you must be logged in as a subscriber. To read about subscribing click here.

Editors. "Treaty of Berlin divides Bulgaria". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 30 December 2011
[, accessed 21 April 2014.]