Congress of Berlin (51 words)

Historical Context Note

  • Editors


The United Kingdom, Austria-Hungary, France, Germany, Italy, Russia and the Ottoman Empire revised the Treaty of San Stefano. The result was the Treaty of Berlin, which recognized the complete independence of the principalities of Romania, Serbia and Montenegro and the autonomy of Bulgaria, though the latter remained under formal Ottoman overlordship

Editors. "Congress of Berlin". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 01 February 2010
[, accessed 03 December 2016.]