Act forbidding trade with the Royalist colonies of Virginia, Bermuda, Barbados and Antigua

(71 words)

Historical Context Note

  • The Literary Encyclopedia. Volume : .

When the British civil wars started, the English colonies in America were divided in their allegiances. The New England colonies all supported the Parliamentary cause, but the southern colonies of Virginia, Bermuda, Barbados and Antigua proved Royalist. In October 1650, the Commonwealth Parliament passed an Act prohibiting trade with these Royalist colonies. A naval force was also sent across the Atlantic, led by General-at-Sea Ayscue, to try to reclaim control of Barbados.

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are not a subscriber, please click here to read about membership. All our articles have been written recently by experts in their field, more than 95% of them university professors.

Related Groups

  1. English Civil War