North Atlantic Treaty Organization founded

(68 words)
  • Lucas Paul Richert (University of Saskatchewan)

Historical Context Note

  • The Literary Encyclopedia. Volume 12: Global Voices, Global Histories: World Literatures and Cultures.

Twelve nations (Britain, France, Belgium, Netherlands, Italy, Portugal, Denmark, Iceland, Norway, U.S. and, Canada) sign the North Atlantic Treaty to form the North Atlantic Treaty Organization, an anti-Soviet defensive league for mutual assistance against aggression in North Atlantic. On 24 August, NATO was established by the US, Canada and 10 other Western nations, agreeing that an armed attack against one or more would be considered an attack against all.

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are not a subscriber, please click here to read about membership. All our articles have been written recently by experts in their field, more than 95% of them university professors.

Richert, Lucas Paul. "North Atlantic Treaty Organization founded". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 01 October 2008
[, accessed 05 July 2015.]