American Revolutionary War

(174 words)

Historical Context Note

The American Revolutionary War, also known as the American War of Independence, began the 19th of April 1775. It followed the rejection of British rule by 13 of Great Britain's colonies; Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maryland, South Carolina, New Hampshire, Virginia, New York, North Carolina, and Rhode Island. The First Continental Congress, a convention of delegates representing 12 of the colonies, established the American Continental Army in June 1775, with future President George Washington as its commander-in-chief. Not all colonists joined the Continental Army as many remained loyal to the British Crown. The Loyalists fought the colonists alongside the British Army. Many Native …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are not a subscriber, please click here to read about membership. All our articles have been written recently by experts in their field, more than 95% of them university professors.

Related Groups

  1. American War of Independence