Nathaniel Hawthorne: Grandfather's Chair

(2595 words)


Over the span of almost two decades, nineteenth-century United States author Nathaniel Hawthorne wrote and published a wide range of works intended for children. These included six books: Grandfather’s Chair (1840/1841), Famous Old People (1841), and Liberty Tree (1841), each of which focused on tensions between England and its Massachusetts colonies; Biographical Stories for Children (1842), which sketched the childhood of well-known historical figures; and A Wonder Book for Girls and Boys (1852) and Tanglewood Tales, For Girls and Boys; Being A Second Wonder Book (1853), the pioneering first published retellings of Greek myths in English for children. …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are not a subscriber, please click here to read about membership. All our articles have been written recently by experts in their field, more than 95% of them university professors.

Laffrado, Laura. "Grandfather's Chair". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 24 August 2011
[, accessed 04 July 2015.]

Related Groups

  1. Children's Literature