Lawrence Durrell: The Avignon Quintet

(1145 words)
  • Grove Koger (Independent Scholar - Europe)

The five volumes of The Avignon Quintet appeared over a period of eleven years, from 1974 to 1985. Durrell had lived near Avignon since 1957, and for virtually the first time in his life found himself drawing upon a locale in which he still resided. The novels reflect the affection he had developed for Provence, but they also reflect a dark period in his life. His reputation had been in partial eclipse since the publication of Tunc (1968) and Nunquam (1970), known jointly as The Revolt of Aphrodite. His third marriage had ended with the death of Claude-Marie Vincendon in 1967, and his fourth (to Ghislaine de Boysson, the dedicatee of the first volume of the Quintet) would last only two years. …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are a member (student of staff) of a subscribing institution (see List), you should be able to access the LE on campus directly (without the need to log in), and off-campus either via the institutional log in we offer, or via your institution's remote access facilities, or by creating a personal user account with your institutional email address. If you are not a member of a subscribing institution, you will need to purchase a personal subscription. For more information on how to subscribe as an individual user, please see under Individual Subcriptions.

Koger, Grove. "The Avignon Quintet". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 16 December 2003
[, accessed 01 October 2016.]