Anne Stevenson: Stone Milk

(2422 words)

Stone Milk (2007) is Anne Stevenson’s seventeenth separate collection of new poems, the first to be published since A Report from the Border (2003). It falls into three, discrete parts:

1. A Lament for the Makers, pp. 11-32. A long dream poem.
2. Stone Milk, pp. 34-52. A collection of sixteen shorter poems.
3. The Myth of Medea, pp. 54-71. A dramatic entertainment.

The volume as a whole is dedicated “in loving memory of Susan Cooper” [Stevenson’s husband’s sister], who died the year before it was published.

A Lament for the Makers is a dream poem featuring the poet, Peter Redgrove (1932-2003), guiding the author “through the underworld, or, rather, …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are a member (student of staff) of a subscribing institution (see List), you should be able to access the LE on campus directly (without the need to log in), and off-campus either via the institutional log in we offer, or via your institution's remote access facilities, or by creating a personal user account with your institutional email address. If you are not a member of a subscribing institution, you will need to purchase a personal subscription. For more information on how to subscribe as an individual user, please see under Individual Subcriptions.

Gordon, Ian. "Stone Milk". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 12 March 2012
[, accessed 28 September 2016.]