Philip Pullman: The Sally Lockhart Mysteries

(2565 words)

Pullman wrote these young adult novels—The Ruby in the Smoke (1985), The Shadow in the North (1988), The Tiger in the Well (1990), and The Tin Princess (1994)—before embarking on his great sequence, His Dark Materials. Adventure stories based in Victorian London, they evoke the penny dreadfuls of the period while displaying far more artistry and a sophisticated moral vision. Pullman has said that

I wrote each one with a genuine cliché of melodrama right at the heart of it . . . : the priceless jewel with a curse on it—the madman with a weapon that could destroy the world—the situation of being trapped in a cellar with the water rising—the little i…

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are not a subscriber, please click here to read about membership. All our articles have been written recently by experts in their field, more than 95% of them university professors.

Burke, Richard C. . "The Sally Lockhart Mysteries". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 29 January 2011
[, accessed 05 July 2015.]

Related Groups

  1. Young Adult Literature