G. K. Chesterton: The Innocence of Father Brown

(2114 words)

With The Innocence of Father Brown G.K. Chesterton initiated his long-running series of detective stories whose protagonist was the unassuming yet acutely insightful little Catholic priest, Father Brown. As Chesterton noted in his autobiography, this now renowned character was based on the real Father John O'Connor, although the similarity between the two was “internal” rather than related to outward demeanor (Knox viii-ix). Published in 1911 after having appeared originally in the British magazines Storyteller and Cassell's Magazine (Gardner 1), The Innocence of Father Brown comprises ten short stories: “The Blue Cross”, “The Secret Garden”, “The Queer Feet”, “The Flying Stars”, …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are not a subscriber, please click here to read about membership. All our articles have been written recently by experts in their field, more than 95% of them university professors.

Kusmer, Robert. "The Innocence of Father Brown". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 29 January 2008
[http://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=506, accessed 04 July 2015.]

Related Groups

  1. Crime, Detective, Spy/ Thriller Fiction
  2. Catholic literature