F. Scott Fitzgerald: All the Sad Young Men

(8269 words)

All the Sad Young Men, F. Scott Fitzgerald's third collection of short stories, was published by Charles Scribner's Sons on 26 February 1926. Fitzgerald's previous book, The Great Gatsby, had appeared on 10 April 1925 and Sad should have followed more quickly, in accordance with Scribners' usual policy of issuing a short story collection hard on the heels of a novel by the same author. Fitzgerald's first two short story collections, Flappers and Philosophers (1920) and Tales of the Jazz Age (1922) had followed this pattern; but the publication of Sad was delayed until “The Rich Boy”, the opening story in the volume, had appeared in magazine form. Sad consisted of nine s…

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are not a subscriber, please click here to read about membership. All our articles have been written recently by experts in their field, more than 95% of them university professors.

Tredell, Nicolas. "All the Sad Young Men". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 24 February 2009
[http://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=6762, accessed 06 July 2015.]