D. H. Lawrence: The Woman Who Rode Away

(1534 words)
  • N. H. Reeve (University of Wales, Swansea)

The Woman Who Rode Away and Other Stories (1928) was the third and last collection of Lawrence’s stories to be published in his lifetime. There are 13 stories, which the 1995 Cambridge edition prints in the order Lawrence originally stipulated: “Two Blue Birds”, “Sun”, “The Woman Who Rode Away”, “Smile”, “The Border-Line”, “Jimmy and the Desperate Woman”, “The Last Laugh”, “In Love”, “The Man Who Loved Islands” (omitted from the English 1928 edition owing to threatened legal action by the novelist Compton Mackenzie, who believed the story libelled him), “Glad Ghosts”, “None of That!”, “The Rocking-Horse Winner” and “The Lovely Lady”. They were all written between 1924 and …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are a member (student of staff) of a subscribing institution (see List), you should be able to access the LE on campus directly (without the need to log in), and off-campus either via the institutional log in we offer, or via your institution's remote access facilities, or by creating a personal user account with your institutional email address. If you are not a member of a subscribing institution, you will need to purchase a personal subscription. For more information on how to subscribe as an individual user, please see under Individual Subcriptions.

Reeve, N. H.. "The Woman Who Rode Away". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 13 March 2006
[http://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=8199, accessed 29 September 2016.]