Marguerite de Valois (1491 words)

Edith Benkov (University of San Diego)
Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error


Most commonly known as La Reine Margot (Queen Margot), a debt owed to Alexander Dumas’ 1845 eponymous novel, Marguerite de Valois was the daughter of Henri II and Catherine de’ Medici, and the sister of three successive kings: François II, Charles IX and Henri III. Her childhood was spent at the royal residence in Saint Germain-en-Laye, which would be the site of the not far from the Royal Convent of Poissy where the failed attempt at reconciliation between Catholics and Protestants was held in 1561. Even as a very young girl, she would be courted for her influence as evidenced, for example, in works dedicated by the poet Anne de Marquets, a nun housed in Poissy, to her. In addition to being known for her …

Citation: Benkov, Edith. "Marguerite de Valois". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 13 August 2018 [, accessed 27 January 2022.]

14124 Marguerite de Valois 1 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.