David Foster Wallace (3934 words)

William Allen (University of Glasgow)
Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error


Related Articles

David Foster Wallace was an American writer, born in 1962. Between 1987 and 2005, he published five works of fiction: The Broom of the System (1987), Girl with Curious Hair (1989); Infinite Jest (1996), Brief Interviews with Hideous Men (1999); and Oblivion (2004); and four works of non-fiction: Signifying Rappers: Rap and Race in the Urban Present (co-authored with Mark Costello, 1990) A Supposedly Fun Thing I’ll Never Do Again (1997), Everything and More (2003), and Consider the Lobster (2005). He died in September 2008, and the unfinished manuscript of his novel The Pale King was published posthumously three years later. Wallace’s …

Citation: Allen, William. "David Foster Wallace". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 17 May 2020 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/speople.php?rec=true&UID=14491, accessed 29 November 2020.]

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here