Brian Lindsay Turner

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

Brian Lindsay Turner has been amply acknowledged as one of New Zealand’s premier living poets. His accolades include the following: in 1979, being joint-winner of the Commonwealth Poetry Prize, for his first collection, Ladders of Rain (1978); in 1984, the Robert Burns Fellowship at the University of Otago, Dunedin; in 1993, a Scholarship in Letters from the Arts Council of New Zealand; in 1993 and 2010, the Poetry Award at the New Zealand Book Awards; for the years 2003-5, the status of Te Mata Estate New Zealand Poet Laureate; in 2009, the Prime Minister’s Award for Literary Achievement in Poetry; also in 2009, the Lauris Edmond Award for a Distinguished Contribution to Poetry; and in 2011, an Honorary D. Litt. conferred by the University of Otago. In the 2020 Queen’s Birthday…

4600 words

Citation: Ross, John C.. "Brian Lindsay Turner". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 28 July 2020 [, accessed 04 December 2023.]

4477 Brian Lindsay Turner 1 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.