Among the multiplicity of women novelists who attained well-deserved places in the literary canon and the literature classroom over the closing decades of the twentieth century, Anne Tyler stands out. One distinguishing trait is her prodigious rate of productivity; between 1964 and 2001 she published 16 novels, nine of which were released in the 1980s and 1990s. Also, while maintaining the Southern literary tradition in her choice of Southern cities as backdrops and in her emphasis on home and family relationships, she differentiates herself from such predecessors as William Faulkner, Robert Penn Warren and Katherine Anne Porter in her admitted lack of a “world view”.

Often inspired by overheard conversational snippets, …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are a member (student of staff) of a subscribing institution (see List), you should be able to access the LE on campus directly (without the need to log in), and off-campus either via the institutional log in we offer, or via your institution's remote access facilities, or by creating a personal user account with your institutional email address. If you are not a member of a subscribing institution, you will need to purchase a personal subscription. For more information on how to subscribe as an individual user, please see under Individual Subcriptions.

Donohue, Cecilia. "Anne Tyler". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 25 October 2002
[, accessed 26 May 2016.]

Articles on Tyler's works

  1. A Slipping Down Life
  2. A Spool of Blue Thread
  3. Back When We Were Grownups
  4. Beginner’s Goodbye
  5. Breathing Lessons
  6. Celestial Navigation
  7. Digging to America
  8. Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant
  9. If Morning Ever Comes
  10. Ladder of Years
  11. Noah's Compass
  12. Searching for Caleb
  13. The Accidental Tourist
  14. The Amateur Marriage
  15. The Clock Winder

Related Groups

  1. Literature of the American South