Joyce Carol Oates

(3114 words)
  • Martin Kich

Joyce Carol Oates is one of the pre-eminent writers of her generation. She has been honored with a long list of prestigious awards for individual novels and short stories and for career achievements in both genres. Over a long and incredibly productive career, she has maintained a consistently high level of craftsmanship. She received a National Book Award for her fourth novel, them, and was named a finalist for a National Book Award for her twenty-ninth novel, Blonde. In between, her novels Black Water (1992) and What I Lived For (1994) were finalists for the Pulitzer Prize. Her short stories have been included in almost every annual issue of Prize Stories: The O. Henry Awards for the past …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are not a subscriber, please click here to read about membership. All our articles have been written recently by experts in their field, more than 95% of them university professors.

Kich, Martin. "Joyce Carol Oates". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 28 February 2003
[, accessed 06 July 2015.]

Articles on Oates' works

  1. A Garden of Earthly Delights
  2. Dear Husband: Stories
  3. On Boxing

Related Groups

  1. Gothic, Grotesque& Supernatural Fiction