United States Constitution ratified (77 words)

Historical Context Note

Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Share on Facebook Tweet Report an Error


The US Constitution was adopted on the 17th of September, 1787, by the Constitutional Convention in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Article Seven of the Constitution required that at least nine states must ratify the constitution in order for it to come into effect. The first state to ratify the Constitution was Delaware on 7th December, 1787. The ninth was New Hampshire on the 21st of June, 1788. The last of the 13 states to ratify was Rhode Island on the 29th of May 1790.

We have have no profile for this entry. If you are a qualified scholar and you wish to write for The Literary Encyclopedia, please click here to contact us.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here.