Treaties of Tilsit (116 words)

Historical Context Note

Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Share on Facebook Tweet Report an Error


Agreements between France, Russia and Prussia, signed July 7-9 1807 at the town of Tilsit in Prussia (now Sovetsk, Russia). Russia became an ally of France and the two divide central Europe between them. Prussia is dismembered, its Polish provinces being turned into the Duchy of Warsaw under the rule of the king of Saxony, Napoleon's ally. Other Prussian lands are added to the kingdom of Westphalia. What is left of Prussia will be garrisoned by French troops until damages of 120m francs have been paid. Prussia and Russia would join the Continental System and exclude Britain from trade. Russia would be free to invade Finland and would have French support for the liberation of European Turkey.

We have have no profile for this entry. If you are a qualified scholar and you wish to write for The Literary Encyclopedia, please click here to contact us.

Editors. "Treaties of Tilsit". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 26 May 2008
[, accessed 20 April 2018.]

Related Groups

  1. Napoleonic Wars: 1803-1815

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here.