Third Irish Home Rule Bill (87 words)

Historical Context Note

  • Editors
Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Share on Facebook Tweet Report an Error


The Bill was opposed by both Ulster Unionists in the north (who wanted less) and Republicans in the south (who wanted more), but was it passed into law on 18th September 1914, albeit with the decision that Irish Home Rule remain inoperative until the cessation of hostilities. By then the Easter Rising had taken place to the terms of the Act were only applied to the six counties of Ulster by the Government of Ireland Act (1920). The 26 counties of Eire were granted dominion status by the Anglo-Irish Treaty (1921).

We have have no profile for this entry. If you are a qualified scholar and you wish to write for The Literary Encyclopedia, please click here to contact us.

Editors. "Third Irish Home Rule Bill". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 01 February 2010
[, accessed 19 January 2018.]

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here.