William Burroughs: The Nova Trilogy (1317 words)

Article Metadata

The Nova trilogy, comprised of the novels The Soft Machine (1961, revised 1966), The Ticket That Exploded (1962, revised 1967) and Nova Express (1964), constitutes American novelist William S. Burroughs' most extensive and radical experiment with narrative form. Like most of Burroughs' work during the Sixties, these novels were composed using the “cut-up” method in which existing texts, including Burroughs' own writings and/or writings by other authors, were physically cut into pieces of variable length and re-assembled in random order to generate unexpected juxtapositions and new syntactic relationships. Burroughs developed the cut-up method in collaboration with the Anglo-Canadian painter and novelist …

Citation: Murphy, Timothy S.. "The Nova Trilogy". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 18 December 2002 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=10822, accessed 18 January 2020.]

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here