John Lent: Black Horses, Cobalt Suns: new poems (1564 words)


Black Horses, Cobalt Suns: new poems (2000) is John Lent's sixth published book, his fourth of poetry. Based on revisions to a “sonnet cycle” completed in 1995, this chapbook contains the original twelve poems reworked as ten free verse lyrics, with a reflective “prologue” by the author. The new edition incorporates a governing epigraph from Robert Kroetsch's The Crow Journals (1980):

Escapes and separations and abandonment.
People without names.
What is this?

The question governs Lent's investigation of self in place.

Although originally labelled a “sonnet cycle”, the poems were and are free verse lyrics; they conform to no structural …

Citation: McLuckie, Craig. "Black Horses, Cobalt Suns: new poems". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 26 April 2004 [, accessed 19 October 2020.]

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here