Sylvia Plath, The Colossus

Helen Bain (King's College London)
Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error

I. Introduction

The Colossus and Other Poems, published in 1960, was Sylvia Plath’s first collection of poetry, and the only one published in her lifetime. It was followed by Ariel (1965), later by Crossing the Water (1971; broadly speaking, the poems Plath wrote in the period between The Colossus and Ariel) and Winter Trees (1971; poems written in late 1962 and early 1963 following Ariel), and finally the Collected Poems (1981), which won the Pulitzer Prize for poetry. A new complete collection of Plath’s work, The Poems of Sylvia Plath, is currently being compiled by Plath scholars Karen Kukil and Amanda Golden for …

5601 words

Citation: Bain, Helen. "The Colossus". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 09 February 2023 [, accessed 01 April 2023.]

1235 The Colossus 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.