Shirley Lim, Monsoon History

Andrew Hock Soon Ng (Monash University)
Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

Monsoon History (1994), by Malaysian-born poet Shirley Goek-lin Lim, comprises the complete poems from her Commonwealth Poetry Prize winning collection, Crossing the Peninsula (1980), and selections from Modern Secrets (1989) and No Man’s Grove (1985). With an excellent introduction by Laurel Means and an essay by Lim about the interrelationship between the exilic experience and language to cap the collection, Monsoon History could be regarded not only as representative of Lim’s poetic oeuvre, but a fundamental text in postcolonial literature for its sheer range of issues and stylistic innovativeness.

The collection is divided into six sections, each dealing with concerns to which Lim returns time and again in both her creative and critical writings. The first is entitled “Bukit

1609 words

Citation: Ng, Andrew Hock Soon. "Monsoon History". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 13 February 2008 [, accessed 03 December 2023.]

12449 Monsoon History 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.