Alan Sillitoe: The Death of William Posters

(3762 words)

The Death of William Posters (1965) was Alan Sillitoe’s fourth novel and the first of a trilogy which includes A Tree on Fire (1967) and The Flame of Life (1974). It has the widest social and geographical scope of his novels so far, sending its protagonist, Frank Dawley, an escapee from working-class life, into Lincolnshire (with flashbacks to Nottingham), and then on to London, Spain, Majorca, Tangier and the Morrocan/Algerian border, and involving him in successive relationships with two middle-class married women, Pat Shipley and Myra Bassingfield. Posters is told in the third person and moves between the points of view of Frank, Pat and Myra, and their respective husbands, Keith and George. Compared to S…

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are a member (student of staff) of a subscribing institution (see List), you should be able to access the LE on campus directly (without the need to log in), and off-campus either via the institutional log in we offer, or via your institution's remote access facilities, or by creating a personal user account with your institutional email address. If you are not a member of a subscribing institution, you will need to purchase a personal subscription. For more information on how to subscribe as an individual user, please see under Individual Subcriptions.

Tredell, Nicolas. "The Death of William Posters". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 15 July 2010
[, accessed 26 September 2016.]

Related Groups

  1. Angry Young Men