Beryl Bainbridge: Every Man for Himself (2591 words)

Every Man for Himself was published in 1996 and was the first of three historical novels written in succession by Bainbridge (it was followed by Master Georgie in 1998 and According to Queeney in 2001).

Every Man for Himself retraces the maiden voyage of the Titanic. The story begins on April 8th 1912 and it ends on April 15th with the protagonist and some other surviving passengers floating in a life-boat amidst the debris of the sunken ship, awaiting rescue. The story is mainly peopled with fictional characters but some of them bear the names of rich and influential families of the period, e.g. “Morgan”, “van Hopper” and “Rothschild”. Beryl Bainbridge …

Hiltl, Markus. "Every Man for Himself". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 05 May 2006
[, accessed 21 March 2018.]

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here.