Nelly Sachs: Und niemand weiss weiter [And no one knows how to go on] (1212 words)

Jennifer Hoyer (University of Arkansas)
Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error

Und niemand weiss weiter [And no one knows how to go on, 1957], the first of Nelly Sachs' poetic collections to be published in West Germany, is a remarkably heterogeneous collection of poems. It treats many of the themes that extend through most of Sachs' work – among them a critical examination of time, memory, and semantics –but the reference systems in this volume have their roots in a wider variety of topics, ranging from theories of artistic production, Hassidic mysticism and fairy tales, to Shakespeare, biblical figures, music, anesthesia, and current events. Its chaotic range reflects the sentiment of the title, “and no one knows how to go on”.

Sachs composed the poems for …

Hoyer, Jennifer. "Und niemand weiss weiter". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 15 October 2006
[, accessed 23 January 2019.]

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here.