T. H. White: The Once and Future King (3088 words)


Other Resources

Related Groups

The Once and Future King (1958) is an omnibus novel written by English author T.H. White (1906–1964). It is an Arthurian retelling made up of four, or sometimes five, books that cover King Arthur’s life from childhood to his final battle. It was first published as a tetralogy in 1958, although the constituent parts were written between 1937 and 1941, with sections revised in 1957.

Composition and Publication

The first book that forms The Once and Future King, The Sword in the Stone, was published in 1938. White describes this novel, and his inspiration to write it, in a letter to his friend L.J. Potts on January 14th of that year:

It is …

Citation: Schenk, Gabriel. "The Once and Future King". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 24 June 2020 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=22890, accessed 24 October 2021.]

22890 The Once and Future King 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here