Margaret Atwood: The Door (856 words)

Sue Sorensen (Canadian Mennonite University)
Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error


Other Resources

After publishing nine major books of poetry in the first 25 years of her career, Margaret Atwood’s poetic output slowed dramatically, with just two new collections (aside from selected works) published since the 1980s: Morning in the Burned House (1995) and The Door (2007). Atwood’s large audience is now principally attentive to her fiction, so while her early books of poetry were thoroughly appraised, especially in Atwood’s home nation of Canada, Morning in the Burned House and The Door received less critical attention. These books, however, demonstrate an intriguing shift in emphasis. Her early “soundings of female consciousness were forensic and archetype-obsessed” (Starnino), and critics …

Citation: Sorensen, Sue. "The Door". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 19 September 2014 [, accessed 22 October 2020.]

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here