The Crossing (1994), the second novel of Cormac McCarthy’s critically acclaimed Border Trilogy, is not a sequel to All the Pretty Horses (1992), nor is it quite a prequel to Cities of the Plain (1998). The Crossing, which tells the tale of adolescent trapper Billy Parham, is, in fact, set before the events of the first novel, All the Pretty Horses, which is the story of sixteen-year-old cowboy John Grady Cole. This is in violation of the chronological conventions expected of a trilogy. Cities of the Plain brings John Grady and Billy together.

The novels of the Border Trilogy are all set on the borderlands of the United States and Mexico, bearing the stamp of American southwest regionalism, while at the same time interrogating and even deconstructing individualism, self-reliance, survival

2646 words

Citation: Banco, Lindsey Michael. "The Crossing". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 03 November 2016 [, accessed 10 December 2023.]

31210 The Crossing 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.