Nathaniel Hawthorne: Liberty Tree

(2346 words)

Liberty Tree (1841) builds on and is a continuation of Hawthorne’s first two children’s books, Grandfather’s Chair and Famous Old People. Liberty Tree consists of a Preface, eleven chapters, and five formally titled stories. The Preface invitingly begins, “Has the youthful reader grown weary of Grandfather’s stories about his Chair? Will he not come, this once more, to our fireside, and be received as an own grandchild, and as brother, sister, or cousin to Laurence, Clara, Charley, and little Alice?” (143). The Preface then summarizes various incidents of the American Revolutionary period to come, reminding readers that in all the stories

on its sturdy …

Please log in to consult the article in its entirety. If you are not a subscriber, please click here to read about membership. All our articles have been written recently by experts in their field, more than 95% of them university professors.

Laffrado, Laura. "Liberty Tree". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 24 August 2011
[, accessed 05 July 2015.]

Related Groups

  1. Children's Literature