Maeve Brennan, The Springs of Affection: Stories of Dublin

Dolores McLoughlin (Trinity College Dublin)
Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

The Springs of Affection: Stories of Dublin is comprised of three cycles of stories published in 1997. With the exception of “The Poor Men and Women” (1952), which was printed in Harper’s Bazaar, all the stories originally appeared in The New Yorker, and were later published in two collections, In and Out of Never-Never Land (1969) and Christmas Eve (1974). The title story, “The Springs of Affection”, is considered “in form, if not quite in length, a novella” and is regarded as one of the finest stories Maeve Brennan ever wrote (Maxwell 1997: 10). In this collection, Brennan who grew up in Dublin, draws on her deep familiarity with the socio-cultural character of early-twentieth …

1822 words

Citation: McLoughlin, Dolores. "The Springs of Affection: Stories of Dublin". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 15 August 2011 [, accessed 24 September 2023.]

33499 The Springs of Affection: Stories of Dublin 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.