Enid Blyton: Five on a Treasure Island (2121 words)


Other Resources

Enid Blyton’s Five on a Treasure Island is the first in a series of twenty-one novels for children featuring the “Famous Five”, the three siblings Julian, Dick and Anne, their cousin Georgina (called George), and George’s dog Timmy. First published in 1942, this is Enid Blyton’s most successful novel in her most successful series. It has been subject to exceptionally negative literary criticism, yet is one of the world’s best loved and most read books ever.

The title suggests a debt to Robert Louis Stevenson's Treasure Island, though perhaps to the elements of this story which had entered popular culture rather than directly to the novel. Blyton conceived the series …

Citation: Davis, Graeme. "Five on a Treasure Island". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 30 September 2019 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=38970, accessed 24 October 2021.]

38970 Five on a Treasure Island 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here