N.K. Jemisin: Broken Earth series (2583 words)

Kim Wickham (University of Rhode Island)
Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error


The Broken Earth trilogy, written by N.K. Jemisin, consists of The Fifth Season (2015), The Obelisk Gate (2016), and The Stone Sky (2017), and was released by Orbit Books. Each novel won the Hugo Award for Best Novel, making Jemisin the first author to win three consecutive Best Novel awards. The trilogy is a ground-breaking work of fantasy. Set in a vividly created world, The Broken Earth primarily follows Essun as she attempts to get revenge on her husband for killing their son and retrieve her daughter. During her journey, she discovers the history of the world and confronts her own past. Like much of Jemisin’s other work, the world of the Broken Earth is flawed, filled with …

Citation: Wickham, Kim . "Broken Earth series". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 28 January 2020 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=38976, accessed 24 October 2021.]

38976 Broken Earth series 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here