Leonardo Sciascia, A ciascuno il suo [To Each His Own]

Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

A ciascuno il suo [To Each His Own] (1964) belongs to the unique literary hybrid that Leonardo Sciascia debuted in 1961 in Il giorno della civetta [The Day of the Owl] and continued in Il contesto [Equal Danger] (1971) and Todo Modo [Todo Modo] (1974). All these works could be categorized as detective novels with a socially critical conscience. Basically, the plot rotates around a central character who scrutinizes with lucid rationality a mysterious death that generally happens at the very beginning of the story. While the investigation follows the characteristic pattern of a murder mystery, Sciascia gives particular relevance to the socio-political discourse that surrounds the killing. These novels are all set in Sciascia’s native Sicily with the Mafia or its acolytes perpetrating…

2042 words

Citation: Mazzola, Claudio. "A ciascuno il suo". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 12 January 2022 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=40570, accessed 06 December 2023.]

40570 A ciascuno il suo 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.