Margaret Atwood, Dearly

Shelby Judge (University of Glasgow)
Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

Dearly (2022) is Margaret Atwood’s twenty-first collection of poetry. It is her first poetry anthology in over a decade, following the publication of The Door in 2007. Her fiction spans the genres of historical fiction, speculative fiction, climate fiction, dystopian fiction, literary fiction, and feminist writing. In a 2020 piece for The Guardian, titled “Caught in time’s current”, Atwood claims that Dearly “brings together many of her most recognisable and celebrated themes, but distilled – from minutely perfect descriptions of the natural world to startlingly witty encounters with aliens, from pressing political issues to myth”. Indeed, three of the key motifs within the anthology are grief, the passage of time and ageing, and environmentalism and conservation. All of the…

3483 words

Citation: Judge, Shelby. "Dearly". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 19 January 2023 [, accessed 02 December 2023.]

40825 Dearly 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.