William Harrison Ainsworth, Jack Sheppard

Stephen Carver (Independent Scholar - Europe)
Download PDF Add to Bookshelf Report an Error

Jack Sheppard is the story of two apprentices, Thames Darrell and the historical criminal Jack Sheppard, the basic plot and moral closely following the model of Hogarth's series of twelve engravings, Industry and Idleness (1747), with just a dash of Gay's The Beggar's Opera (1728), both of which had been in part inspired by the short career of the original Jack Sheppard. The novel is divided into three books, or epochs, each resembling the acts of a play. Epoch the First, 1703, takes place in one night when the main protagonists are new-born babies, and acts as a prologue. Epoch the Second, 1715, takes place over a few days in June and shows the adolescent Jack's fall from grace and into the clutches of the evil thief-taker and criminal mastermind, Jonathan Wild, while Thames rather…

871 words

Citation: Carver, Stephen. "Jack Sheppard". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 30 July 2001 [https://www.litencyc.com/php/sworks.php?rec=true&UID=4370, accessed 04 December 2023.]

4370 Jack Sheppard 3 Historical context notes are intended to give basic and preliminary information on a topic. In some cases they will be expanded into longer entries as the Literary Encyclopedia evolves.

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here

Leave Feedback

The Literary Encyclopedia is a living community of scholars. We welcome comments which will help us improve.