Derek Jarman: At Your Own Risk (706 words)

John Mepham (Kingston University)
Download PDF Save to Bookshelf Tweet Report an Error

Derek Jarman wrote a series of autobiographical texts, scripts and journals, in which he again and again revisited his past and continually reinvented the forms of self-writing. The sequence includes Dancing Ledge (1984), The Last of England (1987) (republished as Kicking the Pricks (1996)), Modern Nature (1991), At Your Own Risk (1992), Smiling in Slow Motion (2000), Blue (1993), and Chroma (1994).

At Your Own Risk: A Saint's Testament (1992) continues Jarman's series of collage autobiographies. Although there is a rough chronological shape to the book, the emphasis is more on presenting and consolidating a particular identity than on telling a coherent tale. The s…

Mepham, John. "At Your Own Risk". The Literary Encyclopedia. First published 21 March 2002
[, accessed 26 June 2019.]

Save this article

If you need to create a new bookshelf to save this article in, please make sure that you are logged in, then go to your 'Account' here.